Latest Library Picks

This past week I had a “staycation.” I took a week off of work with absolutely no plans whatsoever. It was amazing. My past eight days have included a lot of napping, laundry (this is the first time I’ve seen the bottom of my closet in months,) catching up on Game of Thrones, snuggling my pup and new foster pup, and, of course, reading! I couldn’t let my free time get away from me without taking the opportunity for a library trip.

As I’ve mentioned on here before, I don’t pay for books. For a long time I went through a period of reading on my Kindle and purchasing eBooks, because, hey! they’re so much cheaper than regular! Then I decided that was a little unnecessary, so I started trying to shop at our local used bookstore, Blue Plate Books. I love Blue Plate, and still go there when I find myself having to make a book purchase, but then it dawned on me–why am I paying for books when I can get them fo’ free?

IMG_3856

I used to have the misconception that the library wouldn’t have what I wanted. Since it is in an old, historic building, I figured they would only have old, historic books. Perfect logic, right? Wrong! They have nearly every book on my TBR list! They aren’t always in stock as soon as I want them, but it’s cool, I can wait, if it means saving $14.99. Our local library system has three branches, all of which are within 15 miles of my house, so I can get a pretty great selection. I could always put a book on “hold” if it’s something I want particularly bad, but I think it’s part of the fun, part of the hunt, to check out what they have in stock on any given day. Luckily my TBR list is hefty enough that I can always find a good number of gems!

This week I got a particularly good haul. These five books are ones that I’ve reeeeeeally wanting to read. My favorite type of book is a psychological/domestic thriller, which each of these are.

So next up to be read:

Never Let You Go by Chevy Stevens
This is Not Over by Holly Brown
Everything You Want Me to Be by Mindy Mejia
My Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry
The River at Night by Erica Ferencik

Reviews to come soon!

Please share your thoughts!

