An Appreciation for Reading

I’ve always considered myself an avid reader. One of my favorite things to do as a child was to go to our local library with my parents and pick out my weekly limit of seven books. My typical lot included plenty of Curious George, Jan Brett, Eric Carl, and Shell Silverstein. I adored the library and was in awe of the millions of books on the shelves, the glass floors, and beautiful spiral staircases leading up to the famous copper dome. Mind you, my local library is probably prettier than yours. Like, unless your public library is That of Congress, I’m willing to put money on mine winning in a beauty contest. See for yourself how easy it is to fall in love:

img_9865

I know, right? Who wouldn’t want to get lost in those stacks for hours? The Handley Library in Winchester, Virginia, was built in 1913, thanks to an endowment from Judge John Handley, and is, rightfully so, one of the crown jewels of my small town. Judge Handley also endowed my high school, appropriately named John Handley High School,which is pretty darn impressive itself:

fullsizerender-2

Anyway, back to my point:

I’m extremely grateful to my parents for instilling in me the value of language and literature at a young age, and encouraging this passion throughout my teenage and early adult years. My grandmother has audio tapes of me reciting original poetry from times she babysat me, before I even knew how to read. I remember being enrolled in half-day kindergarten, but some weeks staying the whole day with first-graders, just to have extra reading time. My parents would read to me every single night before bed, without fail, a tradition we kept up through middle school. My dad and I read the first few Harry Potter books together when I was in the 6th and 7th grades, and to this day I am still awaiting my invitation to Hogwarts.

As I grew older and matured, so did my literary taste. I went through years where I was obsessed with The Babysitter’s Club, Sweet Valley Twins and The Boxcar Children. Then in high school I grew fond of the YA genre, “Sloppy Firsts” and “Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging” being some of my favorites. Early college brought about exploration into chick-lit authors such as Sophie Kinsella, Jane Green, and Emily Giffin (many, of whom, I am still big fans today.)

These last few years, I’ve really gotten into thrillers and crime stories, as well as hot titles on the Best Sellers list. I’m really into Karin Slaughter, MJ Arlidge, Laura Lippmann, Jodi Picoult, and the oh-so-hot-right-now Gillian Flynn.

I’ve found myself getting oddly sentimental writing this post, truly appreciative for the many lives that books have allowed me to live. There really is nothing like getting lost in a good story, completely detached from the worries of reality, even just for a few moments.

Throughout this past year, I’ve probably read more than I ever have before. I recently went back into the Handley Library for the first time in about four years, having gotten caught up in the ease and accessibility of the Kindle instant download. And immediately upon walking in the doors, I was filled with a feeling of belonging, contentment, and gratitude. I had come back to my happy place.

 

Please share your thoughts!

