MONDAY: Sweet Potato Scramble & Berry Salad

I try to pair my breakfasts and lunches to complement one another. When I have a salad for lunch, I try to pack something heartier for breakfast. When I eat something denser or higher in carbs, such as a sweet potato or rice, I do a yogurt or smoothie for breakfast. Today’s pairing is sausage sweet potato egg scramble for breakfast, and berry spinach salad for lunch.

Save on the

 

BREAKFAST: Sausage, Sweet Potato & Egg Scramble

This is one of my very favorite breakfast meals. It’s a variation on my egg scramble from my last prep. In this version, sweet potatoes and maple sausage pair well with savory eggs and red bell peppers. I was a little worried how the sausage and eggs would reheat, but no problem whatsoever. Ever had one of those Jimmy Dean Sausage Bowls? Consider this a cheaper, and much healthier version. While I love the taste of the maple sausage, I do want to try using turkey sausage next time, instead.

IMG_8790

What you need (4 portions):

  • 1 lb maple flavored breakfast sausage
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch squares
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 6 eggs, scrambled (with milk, salt & pepper)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp marjoram

What you do:

  1. Bring medium pot of water to boil. Add sweet potatoes, reduce heat to medium/high and cook ~7 minutes.
  2. In a large, greased skillet, cook sausage on medium heat until browned.
  3. Drain fat from sausage, discard.
  4. Add red pepper, cinnamon and marjoram. Cover and simmer on medium ~5 minutes.
  5. In a separate pan, cook scrambled eggs until light and fluffy.
  6. Combine eggs, sweet potatoes, and sausage mixture.

 

LUNCH: Berry, Walnut & Chicken Salad

This is one of my go-to mason jar salads. It uses simple ingredients that I normally always have on hand. I bought a big bag of walnuts at Costco a few weeks ago and I swear it’s going to take me 5 years to go through them all! I use measurements like “handful” for this recipe, because it’s really up to you how much of each ingredient you want to add.

IMG_8791

What you need (1 portion):

  • Handful walnuts
  • Handful blueberries
  • Handful strawberries, chopped
  • ~2 tbps strawberry vinaigrette dressing
  • Handful blue cheese
  • ~2 cups spinach
  • ~1/2 cup shredded chicken

What you do:

In the mason jar, layer your salad in this order:

  1. Dressing
  2. Blue cheese
  3. Walnuts
  4. Chicken
  5. Strawberries
  6. Blueberries
  7. Spinach

Just shake it up and eat straight from the jar or pour on a plate! Having the dressing at the bottom keeps the produce from getting soggy, and the mason jars keep everything fresh all week long!

IMG_8795

Please share your thoughts!

