Thursday:Egg Scramble & Protein Bistro Box

DAY FOUR (THURSDAY)

PLACE YOUR TEXT HERE

BREAKFAST: Egg Scramble

Eggs are super high in protein and low in carbs and keep surprisingly well in the refrigerator once cooked! I love making omelets for breakfast on the weekends and regularly make egg “muffins” for breakfasts-on-the-go. This week I tried making somewhat of a deconstructed omelet. Really it’s just scrambled eggs with some add-ins, but making something “deconstructed” makes me sound like I’m on Top Chef, so I’m going with that.

IMG_8593

What you need (for two servings):

  • 5 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1/2 can diced tomatoes (or use fresh)
  • 3 slices turkey bacon
  • Salt & pepper
  • 2 tbsp margarine
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

What you do:

  1. Cook your turkey bacon in the microwave according to instructions on package. Crumble and set aside.
  2. In a medium skillet, heat 1 tbsp butter until melted.
  3. Add bell pepper and sauté until color lightens.
  4. Add spinach and tomatoes. Continue cooking until spinach has shrunk and cooked through.
  5. While your veggies cook, combine eggs, milk and salt & pepper. Whisk until fully scrambled.
  6. In a second skillet, add egg mixture over medium heat. Cook about 4 minutes until eggs are solid and fluffy. Constantly use spatula or fork to stir eggs, creating large scrambled pieces.
  7. Stir cooked eggs into your vegetable mixture. Add turkey bacon. Stir well.
  8. Top with shredded cheese.

I would tell you how this tasted but my husband ate mine! So I’ll be doing double oatmeal this week. But, he gave it great reviews! Hence why he’s eating it twice this week.

LUNCH: “Starbucks” Protein Bistro Box Copycat

IMG_8587

Starbucks has really great grab-and-go lunch food. I’m obsessed with their quinoa salads but haven’t yet perfected my own version (lemme know if you have a good recipe!) Another one of my favorites is their Protein Bistro Box. This is extremely easy to replicate at home and the only cooking it requires is boiling an egg! I make this a lot when I’m running late and don’t have time to make anything else.

What you need (for one serving)

  • 1 apple
  • 1 large stem red, seedless grapes
  • 2 triangles of cheese (slice your own or I use Laughing Cow)
  • 1 large tbsp almond butter or peanut butter
  • 1/2 pita pocket
  • 1 egg

What you do:

Literally you just hard boil your egg, slice your pita into triangles, and throw everything into a container. I put my peanut butter in a small condiment container. I also like to eat my apple sliced and dip it into the almond butter, but I don’t slice until the day I plan to eat it, or else the apple will turn brown.

I love how much protein this meal packs, and the variety of salty vs. sweet flavors. And it beats paying the $6 you’ll fork over for one at Starbucks!

Please share your thoughts!

