Tuesday: Yogurt Parfait & Chicken Burrito Bowl

DAY TWO (TUESDAY)

Day two of meal prepping. Yesterday it was SO nice to come home from work, head to the gym, come back to a leftover bowl of potato soup, and spend the rest of the evening with my husband. Normally I’m spending half of my night prepping our meals for the next day, so I really appreciated already having everything ready to go for Tuesday!

Yogurt Parfait-2

I’ve made it a point to make different meals every day. I see a lot of meal preps where people eat chicken, broccoli and brown rice every day of the week. That’s great; I’m sure it’s healthy and cuts down on cost and waste, but I cannot make myself eat the same thing every day. Well, actually I probably could (I love routine) but my husband would be taking his lunch break at Subway. So, I’ve tried to have something different for each of our meals, while not needing 10000 ingredients to purchase.

I’ve posted about both of these meals before, but it’s been a while and I’ve made some variations, so you’re getting the refreshed, better-this-time-around versions.

BREAKFAST: Fruit, Yogurt and Granola Parfait

If you love the ones from McDonalds (for only a dollar, so admittedly, you probably can’t beat their price) you’ll love these!

IMG_7859

What you need (for one serving):

  • 2 packs yogurt (I use Activia, but you could also use a few scoops from a larger tub of yogurt. I’ve made this with one Activia, one vanilla Greek yogurt as well)
  • Small handful of berries
  • 1-2 tbsp granola

What you do:

  1. In a small bowl or container, pour in one packet of yogurt.
  2. Pour the second pack on top.
  3. Layer some berries on the yogurt.
  4. Sprinkle with granola.

IMG_7860

So simple and a great breakfast option or afternoon snack!

LUNCH: Chicken Burrito Bowl

This is one of my regular go-to’s for lunch. The ingredients are super cheap and this recipe makes enough of your burrito mixture to use for a second meal. Later this week, I’ll show you how I used my leftovers to make actual burritos (hint, you just stuff it in a tortilla.)

IMG_8585

What you need (for ~4 servings)

  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 small can tomatoes & green chiles blend (Rotel)
  • 1 can yellow corn
  • ~1 1/2 cups pulled chicken (again, I used rotisserie)
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 2 cups instant brown rice
  • Several stalks cilantro
  • Optional: salsa or Mexican hot sauce for topping

What you do:

  1. Cook your rice according to the package.
  2. In a large skillet, combine the first six ingredients.
  3. On medium heat, simmer ~10-15 minutes until mixture has started to heat up.
  4. In your container, spoon out as much rice as desired.
  5. Top your mixture with some fresh cilantro.
  6. Add your optional salsa or sauce if desired.

Just stick this in the microwave for several minutes when you are ready to eat. It keeps great in the refrigerator so this is a good option to eat toward the end of your week, but I went wild and had mine on Tuesday. Keep in mind that you’ll only use about half of your chicken mixture, but be sure to save that and check back on Friday to see how you can use it for another meal!

 

Please share your thoughts!

