Ham & Spinach Omelet

There’s nothing quite like eggs in the morning! This omelet is a simple, old-fashioned favorite with a bit of a healthy twist. (Can I tell you how many tries it took me to spell “omelet” correctly? Wow!) Eggs are great for healthy eating due to their low-calorie and high protein count! One full hard boiled egg has about 72 calories, 4.8 grams of fat and 6 grams of protein! If you use only an egg white, you cut down to only l7 calories, 0.2 grams of fat, and 3.5 grams of protein.

IMG_6847

I made these omelets (2 servings) with 2 whole eggs and 3 egg whites, to get the best of both worlds. I added some spinach to my omelets for some added nutritional value, and ham and Colby Jack cheese for flavor. This protein-rich omelet was a great recovery meal after a 90 minute yoga class on Saturday morning.

These omelets turned out really light and fluffy! I used a bit of almond milk which helped with the consistency. I was worried the almond milk would taste a bit odd but I didn’t even notice a difference compared to when I make eggs with cow’s milk. I also seasoned the eggs with sea salt and pepper before they were fully cooked.

IMG_6845

No need to be creative all the time with your healthy eating–sometimes “old faithfuls” can be the best!

Please share your thoughts!

