Carrot Cake Overnight Oats

I am a fan of oatmeal and I have been seeing a lot online recently about “overnight oats” so I couldn’t wait to try it out!

Carrot cake

The concept behind overnight oats is pretty easy. You let your oats soak in milk overnight, and by the morning, they are “cooked” and ready to eat! You can eat it cold, or stick it in the microwave for a bit to warm it up.

There are a million concoctions and recipes out there, but I decided to try carrot cake for my first attempt. It was super easy to put together and turned out pretty good. I have to leave for work at 7:30 a.m. so I love meals that I prepare the night before and grab and go in the morning as I am heading out the door.

IMG_6668

What you need:

-1/2 cup oats of your choice (I used old fashioned oats, but also got some steal cut oats to try out at some point)
-1/2 cup milk of your choice (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
-1/2 mashed banana
-Pinch of carrot shavings
-1/2 tsp maple syrup
-1/4 tsp vanilla extract
-1/4 tsp of cinnamon
-Pinch of nutmeg
-Small handful of chopped pecans

What to do:

  1. Mix all ingredients together in a small mason jar or other airtight container. Be sure to cover all the oats in milk so they can soak up the liquid.

    IMG_6664

  2. Place jar in the refrigerator overnight.

    IMG_6667

  3. In the morning, add any garnishments you’d like, such as another pinch of cinnamon, a few additional carrot shavings or pecans, etc.
    IMG_6669

That’s it! It is seriously so easy. The suggested oats to ilk ratio is 1:1, but you can play around with this to make the yogurt the consistency you desire. There are unlimited combinations you could make with this basic formula. I’m really excited to experiment with some new concoctions and flavors!

 

Please share your thoughts!

