Southwest Chicken Burrito Bowl

For the past two weeks I have been off of work. This means I’ve been off my smoothie regimen and have been eating a Lean Cuisine chicken club panini and buttered popcorn every day for lunch. Seriously, almost all 14 days in a row. I know, I know, it’s terrible. But when I get on a kick with something I like, I eat it over and over and over again. Hence, the eating smoothies every day for lunch at work. Anyway, I know it’s time to kick the paninis and popcorn to the curb before my blood pressure sends me through the roof.

Southwest Chicken Burrito Bowl

I am 100% obsessed with Mexican food. I could literally eat it every day (I’m telling you, I really mean that.) I’m never “not in the mood for Mexican.” I have never once turned down the opportunity of a burrito, enchilada, taco, quesadilla, queso dip, chimichanga, or the ever classy Taco Bell. Now my typical Mexican choices don’t tend to be terribly healthy, but after many hours on Pinterest, I found that a lot of health recipes are southwest/Mexican inspired. I can do this! So my first foray into healthy lunch was a Southwest Chicken Burrito Bowl, reminiscent of pre-E.coli Chipotle.

This lunch was super easy and very tasty. My husband and I both loved it and I was impressed by how much flavor it packed. It made about 3 servings total.

What you need:

IMG_6621

-Pulled chicken (about 1 1/2 cups, I used a rotisserie chicken from Food Lion)
-Brown rice (about 2 1/2 cups)
-1/4 cup chopped cilantro
-Green chiles, 1/2 can
-Black beans, 1/2 can
-Corn, 1/2 can
-Fajita seasoning, 1/2 packet
-Verde salsa, to taste
-1 tbsp olive oil
-2 tbsp water
-Optional add-ins

What to do:

  1. Heat olive oil in skillet. Add the chiles, beans, cilantro, corn, chicken, fajita seasoning, and water.
    IMG_6724
  2. Simmer approximately 5 minutes.
    IMG_6726
  3. Cook rice according to package instructions.
  4. Serve chicken mixture over rice and top with drizzle of verde salsa. Add any other optional garnishments (fat free sour cream or plain greek yogurt, shredded cheese, crushed tortilla chips, etc.)

IMG_6599

IMG_6730
The whole process took maybe 10 minutes max. Now I know this has an awful lot of items straight from a can, and I cheated and used microwavable brown rice and rotisserie chicken, but this helped make the dish so quick. One of the reasons I tend to gravitate toward unhealthy options is because they are typically fast and ready made. If you want to make this even “cleaner” you could certainly boil your own chicken breast, use regular-cook rice, make your own seasoning, chop your own chiles, shuck corn off the cob, etc. But, in my reality, this was the best option and it tasted pretty darn good! This will definitely be going into our meal rotation as a keeper.

 

Please share your thoughts!

