Love Your State Frame

For Christmas I wanted to give my best friend something homemade since I have gotten so into crafting over the past year. She is from my hometown of Winchester but is currently living in the Hampton Roads area. I decided to go with this theme and put a little twist on the many framed state crafts I have been seeing on Etsy and Pinterest. Forgive me for failing to have pictures of the process but this one is not too difficult to follow.

Home State Picture Frame
Home State Picture Frame

What you need:
Scrapbook paper
-1 large piece for your background
-1 medium sized piece for your state
-Small pieces for your items
Double sided tape or glue
Scissors or razor blade
Pencil
Picture frame

What to do:
The hardest part was to cut out the state. For this, I figured there was no way I could freehand Virginia, so I needed to trace. I pulled up a picture of Virginia on my iPad, turned the brightness up as far as it would go, put the scrapbook paper overtop and started tracing. This worked out pretty well, but you have to be careful that you don’t move the picture around on the screen while tracing.

Next, cut out the state with scissors, or, better yet, a razor blade. Colorado and Wyoming–you lucked out on this part. Maryland and Massachusetts–not so much.

I then decided on three symbols–a house for where she lives, a graduation cap for where she went to college, and a heart for where she grew up (home is where the heart is, right?) You can trace or free-hand these, whatever is easiest for you.

Now simply tape or glue your state onto your scrapbook paper background and glue your symbols on the geographically correct locations (ashamed that I had to double and triple check this part!)

Where you live, where you went to school, and where you grew up.
Where you live, where you went to school, and where you grew up.

Cut your scrapbooking paper to the appropriate size and insert into your picture frame.

My friend loved it! She sent me this picture of it hanging on her wall at home.
VA

What an easy and inexpensive gift for a friend, relative, or even as a housewarming present. What are some fun personalized crafts you have made?

 

Please share your thoughts!

