Muddy Buddies

One of my favorite Christmas snacks is Muddy Buddies, also known as “Puppy Chow.”

Muddy Buddies
Muddy Buddies

I bought a bag of the Chex Mix pre-made kind the other day and it just wasn’t quite the same as the homemade kind. I’ve never made this myself, but decided to try it out tonight. Very easy and turned out great!

What you need:

I forgot the vanilla extract!
I forgot the vanilla extract!

1 large box Rice Chex Cereal (you can use the chocolate kind, I used plain because it was on sale for $2)
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate morsels or chocolate chips
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup butter or margarine
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups powdered sugar (the recipe I used called for 1 1/2 cups but I ended up using a lot more than that.

What to do:

1. Melt chocolate, butter and peanut butter in large bowl in the microwave. Stir approximately every 30 seconds.

2. Stir in vanilla extract.

3. Stir in Chex cereal until all the way coated.

4. Transfer cereal mixture into large plastic bag. (I used the bag the cereal came in.)

5. Pour in powdered sugar and shake until coated.

6. Lay on wax paper or foil to cool and set.

muddy buddies 2

What I learned:

It might be easier to coat the powered sugar a little at a time. For example, pour about 1/4 of the cereal mixture into the bag and then toss with 1/4 your powdered sugar. Repeat in small batches. My bag was too small to allow ample room for the cereal to mix with the sugar. Also, make the peanut butter to chocolate ratio to your liking. I ended up melting in a bit more chocolate because I found the peanut butter taste to be a bit too strong.

muddy buddies 4

This turned out great! Very simple; I will be using this as a snack on Christmas Eve when we host my boyfriend’s family at our house. I anticipate it won’t last long! Much better than the store-bought version.

What’s one of your favorite homemade holiday snacks?

Please share your thoughts!

