Light Banana Pudding Recipe–SO EASY!

I’m not really big on desserts. Pies, cakes, candy, I’ll pass. But I am a sucker for cold desserts like ice cream, puddings, and mousse. My cousin makes the most amazing banana pudding recipe and brings it to every family get together and I can never get enough. Actually this past Thanksgiving after my heaping eyes-are-bigger-than-my-stomach plate, it completely put me over the edge–but was so worth it. So I got a craving for it the other day but after looking up recipes I was kind of grossed out by how terrible for you banana pudding really is. With ingredients like sour cream, condensed milk, flour, sugar, eggs, etc. it seemed like too much hassle, as well as a soon to be moment-on-the-lips, forever-on-the-hips regret. So I decided to take a shot at a slightly healthier and way easier version!

I only have a household of two so this is a pretty small recipe. You may want to consider doubling or even tripling if making it to share.

What you’ll need:

Ingredients
Ingredients

2 bananas, sliced
1 package instant vanilla pudding (you can even use sugar free if you’d like)
Reduced Fat Nilla Wafers
2 cups 2% milk
1 tub fat free Cool Whip

Directions:

1. In a medium sized bowl, mix cold milk with pudding mix. Refrigerate until set and thickened.

2. Slice bananas. Spread 1/2 of the bananas and a handful of Nilla wafers in the bottom of a bowl separate from the pudding.

3. Pour half of the pudding over bananas and wafers. Repeat this step.
banana pudding 2

4. Finish by topping with softened Cool Whip.
banana pudding 3

Finished product...delicious and nutritious! (Bananas totally count for nutrition, right?)
Finished product…delicious and nutritious! (Bananas totally count for nutrition, right?)

So simple! I prefer to let the dessert set for several hours or overnight so that the cookies have a chance to soften, but I had too little patience for that this time. Some people may like to layer the ingredients just so, but I more or less just dumped everything in. It all goes down together! I’ll admit this isn’t quite as good as my cousin’s recipe, but it definitely hits the spot for way fewer calories! The Reduced Fat Nilla Wafers have 60% less fat than regular and the Fat Free Cool Whip has only 15 calories per two tablespoons!

What are some of your favorite desserts that you’ve adapted into a less sinful version?

Please share your thoughts!

