My Horizontal Life by Chelsea Handler

www.chelseahandler.com
http://www.chelseahandler.com

We all know Chelsea Handler. You probably know her as the hilarious comedienne and host of her own late-night E! talk show, Chelsea Lately. But did you know that this same comedic genius is also an author? Yes, you heard me, Cheslsea can write. And she can actually write really well. She currently has two books, My Horizontal Life and Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea. Both are very similar in their structure and content, but My Horizontal Life is her lesser known, and funnier, first one.

I started reading this book after I found it on my old roommate’s bookshelf about 2 1/2 years ago, before Chelsea Handler had launched her show and really taken off. I remembered laughing at her on Girls Behaving Badly and some various E! specials she commented in, so I decided to give it a try. I fell in love with her sarcastic, messed up sense of humor, and instantly became a fan. Handler’s writing is absolutely as hysterical as her stand-up, and her form of storytelling will rope you in and not let you go, until you can’t see the words on the page because of tears from laughter.

The full title of the book is My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands, and it is just that. Handler chronicles her life…or should I say sex life…and the many men she has…conquered in her lifetime. Her experiences range from ones with men of all ethnicities, and sizes. In the dirty and literal sense of the word. My favorite story is one of her encounter with a little person, or “little nugget” as she so-lovingly refers to him (NOT Chuy…at least I don’t think.)

Although the book does not follow a set plot, there really is no need for one. You can pick up at any chapter and it’s like it’s own mini story-inside-a-story. It’s the perfect book to grab and read in between classes, waiting for a doctor’s appointment, at your own leisure.

If you’ve easily offended by sexual humor, explicit language, and raunchy jokes, please do not read this book.
If you’ve got a great sense of humor and love a good laugh, purchase this immediately.

3 thoughts on “My Horizontal Life by Chelsea Handler

  1. Your favorite one WOULD be the one with the little person…considering your midge chair and love for primordials.
    Do you have this book so I can borrow it, I am fresh out of reading material, thankssssss.

  2. Oooo I’m definitely getting this one! I want to know what happened with the “little nugget!” Hopefully Chelsea will comment here. Chelsea Handler for President 2012.

  3. hahah yay! best book ever! this very same book is now staring at me from my bookshelf next to the computer!
    ps it makes me sad that im “your old roomate”.. i miss you!

Please share your thoughts!

